Lit. “deep, comprehensive understanding.” More typically, this is used as a technical term to refer to Islamic Law. There are generally five categories under which any conceivable action in human life can fall in Islamic law:

  1. Fardh or Wajib (synonyms) = Obligatory
  2. Mustahab = Recommended
  3. Jaa’iz or mubah (synonyms) = Permissible (Neutral)
  4. Makruh = Disliked
  5. Haraam = Sinful / Forbidden
« Back to Glossary Index